back to home page
the news of iowa park
features from around iowa park
weddings, anniversaries and more
local obituaries
columns and letters
sports from local athletes
award-winning photos
let us know
ipleader advertising resources
businesses around iowa park
iowa park churches
area groups
get your message to the people
the iowa park area
the town of friendly living
the best of schools
links of interest
iowa park's paper since 1969
the leader staff
give us a shout





Franks named Offensive MVP for District 3-4A

Iowa Park senior Bowie Franks was recently named Offensive Most Valuable Player for District 3-4A, heading a list of 14 Hawk players to garner mention on the 2016 3-4A All-District Football Team.
Franks ran for 2,167 yards on 244 carries in the season, with 28 touchdowns. According to several sources, it is the most yards ever rushed by a Hawk back in school history in a single season.
Other Hawks earning first team accolades during the past season included quarterback Dylan Meyer, receiver/safety Colton Dickerson, tight end Jay Schweiger, offensive guard Conner Rhoades, and linebacker Branden Brewer.
Meyer, a senior, completed 86 of 130 pass attempts for 1,570 yards and 11 touchdowns with two interceptions before being injured during the Graham game. He also rushed for 1,001 yards in 152 carries and 17 carries. He earned first team quarterback honors.
Dickerson, also a senior, was name to both the first team offense at receiver and first team defense at safety.
As a receiver, Dickerson had 523 yards receiving with four touchdowns, and 656 yards rushing with seven touchdowns. On defense, he led the Hawks in tackles.
Schweiger and Rhoades, both seniors, anchored the Hawk offensive line.
Brewer, a junior, led the Hawks in sacks and tackles for a loss.
Hawks earning Second Team mention on offense included juniors Pearson and Bagley at receiver and tackle, respectively, and sophomore Stanley at guard.
Pearson also made Second Team defense at safety, along with seniors Dre Gresham and JT Fallon on the defensive line, and junior Brendan Payton at outside linebacker.
Honorable Mention honors from Iowa Park included seniors Nathan Eaves (tackle) and Cody Gray (cornerback), and Bagley at linebacker.
District 3-4A champ Krum landed senior quarterback Brandon Reeves as the Most Valuable Player, along with senior Everett Gunnos as Offensive Line MVP, and the Krum coaches as Coaching Staff of the Year.
Runner-up Graham had senior Jack Hays as Defensive MVP, and sophomore Will Hays (linebacker) as Defensive Sophomore MVP. Vernon senior Donnell Kendricks was named Defensive Line MVP, and junior Chaz Smith was named Utlity Player of the Year.
Bridgeport’s Jason Faulkenberry (quarterback) was named Sophomore Player of the Year.
Quarterback – Dylan Meyer (12), Iowa Park.
Runningback – Cole Burton (11), Bridgeport; Jaxon Brockway (12), Graham; Haeden Knight (12), Krum.
Fullback – Brent McCallon (11), Vernon.
Wide Receiver – Justus Martinez (12), Krum; Marcellus Johnson (12), Bridgeport; Adam Groves (11), Graham; Colton Dickerson (12), Iowa Park.
Tight End – Jay Schweiger (12), Iowa Park.
Offensive Tackle – Hunter Dooley (11), Graham; Preston Newman (11), Vernon; Levi Lane (11), Bridgeport.
Offensive Guard – Hector Alejo (12), Graham; Conner Rhoades (12), Iowa Park; Josh Baker (11), Krum.
Center – Zane Howard (12), Krum; Nate Rameriz (12), Bridgeport.
Kicker – Maurico Gonzales (12), Vernon.
Defensive Tackle – Alfonso Duran (12), Graham; Ben Perches (10), Krum.
Defensive End – Kota May (12), Krum; Raymond Barrington (12), Krum.
Inside Linebacker – Coleton Spradley (12), Krum; Marcos Deluna (12), Bridgeport; Brandon Bewer (11), Iowa Park.
Outside Linebacker – Justin Adams (12), Krum; Abe Huerta (12), Bridgeport; Cy Holt (11), Graham.
Cornerback – Caleb Schertz (11), Krum; Wes Martin (11), Graham.
Safety – Chase Williams (12), Bridgeport; Colton Dickerson (12), Iowa Park; Jackson Smith (12), Krum.
Punter – Bryson Hall (12), Vernon.
Quarterback – Tucker Horn (12), Graham.
Runningback – Grayson Mathes (12), Bridgeport; Jordan Villalobos (12), Vernon.
Fullback – Ryan Gipson (12), Krum.
Wide Receiver – Bryson Hall (12), Vernon; Hayden Sutherland (12), Bridgeport; Colton Waters (11), Bridgeport; Billy Pearson (11), Iowa Park.
Tight End – Jacob Boyd (11), Vernon.
Offensive Tackle – Hunter Bagley (11), Iowa Park; Antonio Barraza (11), Krum.
Offensive Guard – Jeremiah Stanley (10), Iowa Park; Evan Shipley (12), Krum.
Center – Riley Wyatt (11), Graham; Zach Stolle (12), Vernon.
Kicker – Efrain Deluna (12), Bridgeport; Jayton Harwell (12), Krum.
Defensive Tackle – Dre Gresham (12), Iowa Park; Romano Solano (11), Vernon; Demetri Hendrick (12), Bridgeport.
Defensive End – J.T. Fallon (12), Iowa Park; Jake Martinez (12), Bridgeport; Preston Langley (11), Graham.
Inside Linebacker – Regi Lane (12), Bridgeport; Juan Salazar (12), Vernon.
Outside Linebacker – Joel Jones (11), Graham; Brenden Payton (11), Iowa Park.
Cornerback – Colton Oster (12), Krum; Chad Thomas (11), Vernon.
Safety – Payton Johnston (11), Graham; Billy Pearson (11), Iowa Park.
Punter – Caleb Schertz (11), Krum.