back to home page
the news of iowa park
features from around iowa park
weddings, anniversaries and more
local obituaries
columns and letters
sports from local athletes
award-winning photos
let us know
ipleader advertising resources
businesses around iowa park
iowa park churches
area groups
get your message to the people
the iowa park area
the town of friendly living
the best of schools
links of interest
iowa park's paper since 1969
the leader staff
give us a shout





Trustees sworn in, board addresses personnel

by Dolores Hamilton
The Iowa Park CISD School Board canvassed votes from the May 7 election and administered the oath of office to the elected trustees during a meeting Thursday night.
In a close race, Dustin Hostas defeated Scot Davis, 123 to 114, for Place 4 on the board. Incumbent Ken Cooper, who ran unopposed, received 215 votes to retain his position on Place 5.
Hostas and Cooper were administered the oath of office by Jonathan Clubb, and Merle Rodgers, who was retiring from Place 4, was given a watch in appreciation for his years of service.
An election of officers was held and Jeff Rhoades was elected president of the board, Ken Cooper, vice president, and Greg Deatherage, secretary.
Clubb gave an update on remodeling work for the staff training center/board room at the school administration building. He said work should be completed by the end of June. Clubb also mentioned drainage problems at the middle school that will be repaired during the summer.
Janet Bowling gave results of 5th and 8th grade STAAR Reading and Math testing. After the first round, Iowa Park students scored above the state in both subjects. In 5th grade reading, Iowa Park scored 87 percent to 75 percent for the state; 5th grade math, Iowa Park, 93 percent to 79 percent for the state; 8th grade reading, Iowa Park, 83 percent to 82 percent for the state; and 8th grade math, Iowa Park, 76 percent to 73 percent for the state.
Bowling said this is a good showing for the first round, and the numbers should go up after the second round of testing.
In other business, a request to dispose of surplus items was approved; Jamie Shipp, school nurse, gave the School Health Advisory Council report; board conducted the final reading of Update 104 and approved it; and an agreement with Orthopaedic & Sports Therapy Center (OSTC) for athletic trainer services was accepted.
Following an executive session to discuss personnel, the board approved the hiring of Leah Russell as principal at Iowa Park High School. Other new hires include: Casey Jordan, high school girls coach/English teacher; Samantha Miller, Bradford 3rd grade teacher; Kelli Cotton, Bradford 3d grade teacher; Deena McCreary, Bradford Sp. Ed.; Karianna Raschke, Kidwell 1st grade teacher; and Amanda Rhodd, Kidwell 1st grade teacher.
Para-Professional Personnel rehires include:
Iowa Park High School - Tammy Hoover, Dana Estep, Brandi Dishman, Vicky Merrell, Donna Williams, Tamara Sanders, Diane Reese, and Kayla Williams.
W.F. George Middle School - Desiree Hardman, Frances “Cookie” Payne, Edie Bartlett, Terrie Willett, Kayla Lalumia, Jennifer Gumm, and Kris Jackson.
Bradford Elementary - Debbie Bria, Crystal Whittington, Barbie Johnston, Christy Moulton, Crystal Otley, Tess Cole, Crystal Walker, Paul Arrington, Becky Coombes, Ginger Hodges, and Jenna Wineinger.
Kidwell Elementary - Jennifer Noble, Julie Whitaker, Cindy Billingsley, Kimberly Miser,Holly Sanders, Debra Honeycutt, Hope Allen, Rachael Gibbons, Jamie Fulton, Martha Hutchings, Kristin Beirne, Michelle Jetton, and Debra Payton.
Resignations were accepted from Logan Carroll, Kidwell 1st grade teacher; Julie Ann Bryant, Kidwell 1st grade teacher; Marc Case, high school coach; Landry Martinez, middle school coach; and Megan Swedberg, Bradford Sp. Ed.