back to home page
the news of iowa park
features from around iowa park
weddings, anniversaries and more
local obituaries
columns and letters
sports from local athletes
award-winning photos
let us know
ipleader advertising resources
businesses around iowa park
iowa park churches
area groups
get your message to the people
the iowa park area
the town of friendly living
the best of schools
links of interest
iowa park's paper since 1969
the leader staff
give us a shout





Voters to the polls Saturday in local election

Local voters will go to the polls Saturday to elect three members of the Iowa Park City Council and two trustees for the Iowa Park CISD School Board.

Wichita County’s $70-million bond election for new jail facilities is also on the ballot. Only voters who live in the unincorporated areas of Wichita County can vote on a proposition to create a county assistance district (CAD).

Voting location for Precincts 307, 309, 310, and 317 is Iowa Park Friendly Door, 810 N. 3rd St., in Iowa Park. Precinct 106 voting will be at West Wichita County Cooperative, 5696 FM 1206, Kamay. Polls will be open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.

Candidates for the Iowa Park CISD School Board are incumbent Jeff Rhoades, Place 7, and incumbent Steve Fairchild is being challenged by Cherrie Bradberry for Place 6.

In the City Council election incumbent Tim Sheppard is being challenged by Larry Hayes for Place 1, Deborah Dyer is the lone candidate for Place 3, and incumbent Sherrie Williams is running unopposed for Place 5.

Early voting ended Tuesday with 375 votes being cast locally at city hall and the school administration building.