back to home page
the news of iowa park
features from around iowa park
weddings, anniversaries and more
local obituaries
columns and letters
sports from local athletes
award-winning photos
let us know
ipleader advertising resources
businesses around iowa park
iowa park churches
area groups
get your message to the people
the iowa park area
the town of friendly living
the best of schools
links of interest
iowa park's paper since 1969
the leader staff
give us a shout





Swenson, Witherspoon tops at livestock show

Micah Swenson was awarded Grand Champion Market Swine, and Josh Witherspoon Grand Champion Meat Goat to lead Iowa Park entries at the 2018 Wichita County Junior Livestock Show premium sale Saturday.
Swenson’s entry was also awarded Champion Dark Cross.
Georgia Haggart’s Pen of 3 Fryers was named Reserve Grand Champion.
In the Market Swine division, Allie Tole showed the Champion Hampshire, Chloe Holland the Reserve Champion Duroc, and Landre Swenson the Reserve Champion Dark Cross. Casey Carrion showed the Reserve Grand Champion Breeding Meat Doe.
Other top awards at the livestock show include Levi Fillmore (Electra), Grand Champion Market Steer; Dawson Dabovich (Wichita County 4-H), Grand Champion Market Sheep; Lyndee Wilson (Burkburnett), Grand Champion Turkey Tom; Caydance Wilson (Wichita County 4-H), Grand Champion Turkey Hen; Ayanna Mitchell (Wichita Falls) Grand Champion Pen of Chickens; and Nate Donaghey (Wichita County 4-H), Grand Champion Pen of 3 Fryers.
Other Reserve Champions included Bailee Krotzer (Burkburnett), Market Steer; Alyssa Marsh (Electra), Market Swine; McKena Shafer (Electra), Market Sheep); Bailee Owen (Wichita Falls), Meat Goat), Ryan Routh (Wichita County 4-H), Turkey Tom; Christian Owen (Wichita County 4-H), Turkey Hen); and Sammie Taylor (City View) Pen of Chickens.
Other Iowa Park and Wichita County 4-H students making the premium sale included:
MARKET SWINE - Micah Scobee, Kayden Early, Grady Bounds, Jea Anzaldua, Jenna Bounds, Catherine McAlister, Haiden Kosse, Raelynn Armstrong, and Morgan Robertson. (4-H) - Nolan Lee (Reserve Berkshire), Cason Green (Reserve Light Cross), Janson Bernard, Preston Rainbolt, Stockton Dabovich, Maddox Bernard, and RJ Rainbolt.
MEAT GOAT - Brayden Riggins, Kaycen Witherspoon, Mason J. Sullivan, and Hayden K. Lovelady. (4-H) - Sarah Spears, Layton DeLuna, and Morgan Adams.
PEN OF 3 FRYERS - Chloe Partridge, Natalie Ewing, Emmeline Wetherbee, and Brianna Reese. (4-H) - Kaylee Reis, Noah Doley, Bailee Burnett, and Mattison Kate Litz.
PEN OF CHICKENS - Bryson Sullivan.
MARKET SHEEP - Makenzie Fowler. (4-H) - Kayce Box, and Deacon Reed.